Aldermen current

The Court of Aldermen has 25 members, one representing each ward of the City of London, together with the Recorder of London. They are elected by the registered voters within the ward, and stand for re-election at least every six years. They retire at 70 years of age. The historic requirement that aldermen sit as magistrates in the City of London was dropped in 2013, but many of those listed below still do.

The list is in order of the year in which they have served as Lord Mayor, or it has been formally advised that they will do so (subject to election), and thereafter in the order of their first election as an alderman. The link from their surname should take you to their entry at the City of London website.

Mr Alderman        Ian              Luder CBE   Castle Baynard      Cooper (elected LM, 2008)

Mr Alderman        Nicholas      Anstee         Aldersgate   Butcher (LM 09-10)

Alderman Sir        David          Wootton      Langbourne Solicitor (LM 11-12)

Alderman Sir        Roger          Gifford        Cordwainer  Musician (LM 12-13)

Alderman Dame    Fiona          Woolf DBE  Candlewick  Solicitor (LM 13-14)

Alderman Sir        Alan            Yarrow      Bridge Fishmonger (LM 14-15)

Alderman Lord     (Jeffrey)       Mountevans    Cheap   Shipwright (LM 15-16)

Alderman Sir         Andrew       Parmley       Vintry         Musician (LM 16-17)

Mr Alderman        Charles        Bowman      Lime Street  Grocer (LM 17-18)

Mr Alderman        Peter           Estlin          Coleman Street   International Banker (2013)

Mr Alderman        William       Russell         Bread Street Haberdasher (2013)

Miss Alderman     Alison         Gowman     Dowgate      Glover (first elected, 2002)

Mr Alderman        David          Graves        Cripplegate  Solicitor (2008)

Mr Alderman        John            Garbutt       Walbrook     Weaver (2009)

Mr Alderman        Peter           Hewitt         Aldgate       Woolman (2012)

Mr Alderman        Matthew      Richardson   Billingsgate  Wax Chandler (2012)

Mr Alderman        Tim            Hailes          Bassishaw    Solicitor (2013)

Mr Alderman        Michael       Mainelli      Broad Street    World Trader (2013)

Mr Alderman        Vincent        Keaveney    Farringdon Within Solicitor (2013)

Alderman Baroness Patricia      Scotland QC    Bishopsgate    Skinner (2014)

Mr Alderman        Robert         Howard   Cornhill       Gardener (2015)

Mr Alderman       Alastair       King        Queenhithe    Blacksmith (2016)

Mr Alderman        Gregory      Jones QC    Farringdon Without    Leathersellers (2017)

Mr Alderman        Nicholas      Lyons      Tower      Merchant Taylor (2017)

Mr Alderman       Prem            Goyal       Portsoken    Plumber (2017)

For more on the Court of Aldermen, please visit this link at the City of London website.

© Nigel Pullman 2018