UA-60231042-1

Modern Day role of the Livery Companies

The role of the livery companies has evolved over the centuries, as they aim to remain relevant to the world in which they operate. All would include philanthropy and education amongst their purposes today (as has always been the case), along with support for the armed services.

But below are listed brief descriptions of what each company also does relating to their historic purpose. The number before each company is their precedence number. That in parenthesis after the role (in bold) is the approximate number of liverymen in each, at early 2020.

() indicates no data available.

The website URL of each livery company is also shown, where more details may be found about their work, role and history.


91        Actuaries' Company                 Actuaries         (260)   https://www.actuariescompany.co.uk

81        Air Pilots' Company                 Aviation           (550)   https://www.airpilots.org

58        Apothecaries' Society              Medicine         (1200) www.apothecaries.org

93        Arbitrators' Company             Arbitration      (145)   www.arbitratorscompany.org

22        Armourers and Brasiers' Company     Material Sciences    (130) www.armourershall.co.uk

110      Arts Scholars' Company          Arts academics, markets & collectors (130)   https://artsscholars.org/

19        Bakers' Company                     Baking (235)   www.bakers.co.uk

17        Barbers' Company                    Medicine         (250)   https://barberscompany.org/

52        Basketmakers' Company        Basketry          (200)   www.basketmakersco.org

40        Blacksmiths' Company            Blacksmiths    (260)   https://blacksmithscompany.co.uk/

38        Bowyers' Company                   Bowmaking     (100)   www.bowyers.com

14        Brewers' Company                    Brewing          (200)   www.brewershall.co.uk

48        Broderers' Company                 Embroidery     (120)   www.broderers.co.uk

88        Builders Merchants' Company   Builders Merchants (210)   http://www.wcobm.co.uk

24        Butchers' Company                   Meat   (650)   www.butchershall.com

77        Carmen Company                Transport & Logistics  (500)   http://www.thecarmen.co.uk

26        Carpenters’ Company               Construction & all timber crafts (210)  www.thecarpenterscompany.co.uk

86        Chartered Accountants' Company      Accountantcy  ()         www.accountantslivery.org

98        Chartered Architects' Company          Architecture  (160)   http://architectscompany.org

87        Chartered Secretaries’ Company        Company Secretaries & Governance professionals  (210)   www.wccsa.org.uk

85        Chartered Surveyors' Company Built Environment  (330)   www.surveyorslivery.org.uk

61        Clockmakers' Company               Horology  (285)   http://www.clockmakers.org

12        Clothworkers' Company         Textiles; Trusteeship; Support for Services Affiliates’           (210)   https://www.clothworkers.co.uk

72        Coachmakers' Company         Automotive, Aerospace, Coachmaking & Coach Harness Making     (430)   http://coachmakers.co.uk

99        Constructors' Company  Construction industry (135) www.constructorscompany.co.uk

35        Cooks' Company                        Cookery   (70)     www.cookslivery.org.uk

36        Coopers' Company                    Casks   (250)   www.coopers-hall.co.uk

27        Cordwainers' Company           Shoes  ()         www.cordwainers.org

29        Curriers' Company                   Leather   (110)   https://www.curriers.co.uk

18        Cutlers' Company                     Steel    (90)     www.cutlerslondon.co.uk

69        Distillers' Company                 Spirits  (320)   https://www.distillers.org.uk

3          Drapers' Company                   Philanthropy in education, social welfare & textiles (290)   https://www.thedrapers.co.uk

13        Dyers' Company                        Dyes & Colourings  (140)   www.dyerscompany.co.uk

109      Educators' Company               Education   (200)   www.co-educators.com

94        Engineers' Company                Engineering (all discisplines)  (310)   www.engineerscompany.org.uk

97        Environmental Cleaners' Company    Cleaning & Maintaining the built Environment   (160)   www.wc-ec.com

76        Fan Makers' Company             Turbines & Aircon (190)   https://fanmakers.com

80        Farmers' Company      Farming & Agriculture (355)   http://www.farmerslivery.org.uk

55        Farriers' Company                Equine (330)   www.wcf.org.uk

63        Feltmakers' Company          Hats & Millinery  (200)   https://www.feltmakers.co.uk

103      Firefighters' Company         Fire prevention  (140)   www.firefighterscompany.org

4          Fishmongers' Company       Fishing industry  (330)   https://fishmongers.org.uk

39        Fletchers' Company             Archery (150)   http://www.fletchers.org.uk

33        Founders' Company             Foundry (165)   https://www.foundersco.org.uk/

64        Framework Knitters' Company    Textiles  (185)   www.frameworkknitters.co.uk

45        Fruiterers' Company            Fruit (260)   https://www.fruiterers.org.uk

95        Fuellers' Company               Energy industry  (160)   https://www.fuellers.co.uk

83        Furniture Makers' Company   Furniture Makers (220)   www.furnituremakers.org.uk

66        Gardeners' Company                Horticulture  (295)   www.gardenerscompany.org.uk

23        Girdlers' Company                    Leather   (80)     https://girdlers.co.uk

71        Glass Sellers' Company           Glass, Glass Fibre, Fibre Optics (132)   www.glass-sellers.co.uk

53        Glaziers' Company      Stained & painted glass  (180)   http://glazierscompany.org.uk

62        Glovers' Company       Gloves (250)   https://www.thegloverscompany.org

74        Gold and Silver Wyre Drawers' Company    Jewellers, embroiderers & microchips (280)   https://www.gswd.org.uk

5          Goldsmiths' Company          Gold & Silversmiths; Assay office       (280)   https://www.thegoldsmiths.co.uk

2          Grocers' Company                Education  (360)   https://grocershall.co.uk

73        Gunmakers' Company         Proofing of firearms & gunmaking  (360)   www.gunmakers.org.uk

8          Haberdashers' Company     Education   (325)   https://www.haberdashers.co.uk

104      Hackney Carriage Drivers' Company  Taxi Drivers ()         www.hackneycarriagedriverscompany.com

54        Horners' Company      Polymers & Plastics (200)   http://www.horners.org.uk

100      Information Technologists' Company Information Technology (380)   https://www.wcit.org.uk

32        Innholders' Company            Hospitality  (100)   https://www.innholders.org.uk

92        Insurers' Company                 Insurance  (365)   https://www.wci.org.uk/

106      International Bankers' Company        Financial Services  (190)   internationalbankers.org.uk/

10        Ironmongers' Company          Iron & Steel    (115)   https://www.ironmongers.org

41        Joiners' Company                     Joinery & Carving  (130)   www.joinersandceilers.org.uk

89        Launderers' Company              Laundry   ()         https://www.launderers.co.uk

15        Leathersellers' Company          Leather & Tanning  (150)   https://leathersellers.co.uk

96        Lightmongers' Company         Electricity  (150)   www.lightmongers.co.uk

57        Loriners' Company                    Equine (350)   www.loriner.co.uk

75        Makers of Playing Cards' Company    Games & Entertainment (150)   www.makersofplayingcards.org

105      Management Consultants' Company Management Consultancy  (130)   https://wcomc.org/

90        Marketors' Company               Marketing  (250)   www.marketors.org

30        Masons' Company                   Stonemasonry (190)   www.masonslivery.org

78        Master Mariners' Company    Professional Sea Captains  ()       http://hcmm.org.uk

1          Mercers' Company                    Philanthropy (250)   https://www.mercers.co.uk

7          Merchant Taylors' Company   Education, Housing  (360)   https://www.merchant-taylors.co.uk

50        Musicians' Company                Music  (440)   www.wcom.org.uk

65        Needlemakers Company         Users of Needles  (195)   www.needlemakers.org.uk

28        Painter-Stainers' Company     Artists (270)   https://painter-stainers.org

            Parish Clerks' Company           Members of PCC, Church Wardens & Organists  () www.londonparishclerks.com

70        Pattenmakers' Company         Footwear   (210)   www.pattenmakers.co.uk

56        Paviors' Company                     Paving & Construction   (310)   www.paviors.org.uk

16        Pewterers' Company                 Pewter (140)   http://www.pewterers.org.uk

46        Plaisterers' Company               Plaster (230)   www.plaistererslivery.co.uk

31        Plumbers' Company                 Plumbing  

34        Poulters' Company                   Poultry ()         https://poulters.org.uk

25        Saddlers' Company                  Saddlery & Equine  (90)     https://www.saddlersco.co.uk

9          Salters' Company                     Chemicals  (180)   https://www.salters.co.uk

84        Scientific Instrument Makers' Company  Scientific Instruments and measures (180)   https://www.wcsim.co.uk

44        Scriveners Company                Notaries  (200)   https://www.scriveners.org.uk

108      Security Professionals' Company        Security industry  (180)   www.wcosp.org

59        Shipwrights' Company            Maritime   (420)   https://www.shipwrights.co.uk

6          Skinners' Company     Philanthropy, school governance, support to the elderly      (390)   https://www.skinners.org.uk

79        Solicitors' Company                  Solicitors  (410)   www.citysolicitors.org.uk

60        Spectacle Makers' Company   Eye Health Professionals  (380)   www.spectaclemakers.com

47        Stationers' Company   Stationery, Newspapers, & Publishing  (530)   www.stationers.org

21        Tallow Chandlers' Company   Oils & Fats, energy sector, candles  (180)   www.tallowchandlers.org

107      Tax Advisers' Company           Tax Advice   (160)   www.taxadvisers.org.uk

67        Tin Plate Workers'  alias Wire Workers' Company     Metal packaging, wire & non-precious metals  (180)            www.tinplateworkers.co.uk

82        Tobacco Pipe Makers' Company    Tobacco Pipe Making  (135)   www.tobaccolivery.org

51        Turners' Company                             Turning & Wood   (190)   www.turnersco.com

37        Tylers & Bricklayers Company       Tiling, bricklaying & roofing (160)   www.tylersandbricklayers.co.uk

49        Upholders' Company  Upholstery, Soft Furnishings & Funeral Directing   (160)   www.upholders.co.uk

11        Vintners' Company                            Wine  (390)   https://vintnershall.co.uk

102      Water Conservators' Company       Water  (175)   www.waterconservators.org

            Watermen's Company                       Navigational crew on Thames boats  ()         www.watermenscompany.com

20        Wax Chandlers' Company       Wax & Bee-keeping (120)   www.waxchandlers.org.uk

42        Weavers' Company                   Woven Textiles  (130)   www.weavers.org.uk

68        Wheelwrights' Company        Wheelwrights (210)   www.wheelwrights.org

43        Woolmen's Company               Wool & Textiles  (160)   www.woolmen.com

101      World Traders' Company        Global traders, brokers & advisers  (220)   https://www.world-traders.org


A spreadsheet showing the above list will be uploaded later, for ease of sorting and searching the data.


Compiled by Nigel R Pullman

1st April 2020


Was this note helpful? Do you have comment? Email nrpullman@btinternet.com

 

© Nigel Pullman 2020