His Majesty’s Commission of Lieutenancy for the City of London


The post of Lord-Lieutenant of a county or major city is an honorary but significant appointment, whose origin dates back to King Henry VIII. A Lord-Lieutenant's responsibilities are wide ranging, and to assist him in these he may appoint a Vice Lord-Lieutenant and Deputy Lieutenants (DL). The size and complexity of Greater London has resulted in some specific arrangements for its Lieutenancy.

Uniquely, the City of London stands apart from Greater London in this respect, having neither Lord Lieutenant nor Deputy Lieutenants. In their place, a Commission of Lieutenancy acts on behalf of the Sovereign in areas where a Lord Lieutenant would normally operate. Each year, on Christmas Day, The King appoints an additional Lieutenant for the City of London. He or she holds that appointment until death, and so the number of Lieutenants in the City of London varies from year to year. 

All past lord mayors are appointed to the Commission for the duration of their time as aldermen (ie usually until their 70th birthday), along with the current LM and his/her likely successor. The other appointees (e.g. Recorder, Common Sergeant, Bank Governor, Police Commissioner, RFCA chairman etc) relinquish their lieutenancy on leaving their office.

By custom, each outgoing LM nominates one suitable new lieutenant (shown as “nominee” in the list below), and they serve for life. Occasionally, a retiring alderman is so nominated (eg Martin and Woolf below).

The work of the City's Lieutenancy is administered by its Clerk - Mr James Edwards

Remembrancer’s Office, Guildhall, London EC2Y 7HH

Listed below are the members of the Society of Lieutenants, who collectively fulfil the role in the City of London. They do so under the chairmanship of the Lord Mayor.

   Name                                               Role & Year appointed 

(NB for past LMs the year shown is also date of appointment to the Commission, not the year they served as LM, which is usually the following year)

Mr Andrew Bailey                              Governor Bank of England 2020

Colonel John Barkshire                      Nominee 1989

Sir John Bond                                       Nominee 2000

Alderman Sir Charles Bowman           Past LM 2016

Mr Dominic Burke                              Nominee 2022                                   

Major General Keith Cima                  Nominee 2009

Major Barnaby Cockcroft                     Nominee 1992

Dame Elizabeth Corley                         City business 2018

Colonel Larry Davis                             Nominee 2019

Rear Admiral Sir Jeremy de Halpert  Nominee 2005

Mr Paul Double                                     Nominee 2018

Colonel Simon Duckworth                   Nominee 2010

Commissioner Ian Dyson                     Police Commissioner 2016

Colonel Nigel Easton                            Nominee 2003

Alderman Sir Peter Estlin                     Past LM 2017

General Sir James Everard                   Nominee 2020

Dr Christopher Gardner-Thorpe            Nominee 1981

Colonel Mark Hatt-Cook                      Nominee 1998

Captain (RN) Paul Hill                           Reserve Forces & Cadets Association 2017

Major William Hunt                              Nominee 2012

Colonel Brian Kay                                  Nominee 1994

Alderman Vincent Keaveny                     Past LM 2021

Major General Simon Lalor                   Nominee 2023

Professor Roy Leighton                        Nominee 2006

His Honour Judge Mark Lucraft        Recorder of London 2020

Alderman Ian Luder                              Past LM  2007

Alderman Nicholas Lyons                      Current LM 2022

His Honour Judge Richard Marks        Common Serjeant 2015

Alderman Professor Michael Mainelli    Potential LM 2023

Colonel Sir Clive Martin                       Nominee 1984

Air Vice Marshal Ranald Munro           Nominee 2015

Major Tony O’Hagan                             Nominee 2007

Mr Paul Orchart                                      Nominee 2012

Alderman Sir Andrew Parmley            Past LM 2015

Air Commodore Delva Patman            Nominee 2011

Major John Phipson                              Nominee 2004

Colonel Nigel Pullman                          Nominee 2013

Sir William Purves                                 Nominee 1996

Colonel Dominic Reid                           Nominee 2008

Alderman Sir William Russell                Past LM 2018

Vice-Admiral The Lord (Jeffrey) Sterling  Nominee 1995

Air Commodore The Viscount (Hugh) Trenchard  Nominee 2014

Colonel Michael Upson                        Nominee 1986

Sir Brian Williamson                            Nominee 2002

Dame Fiona Woolf                                Nominee 2012

Alderman Sir David Wootton             Past  LM 2010

Although Greater London has a Lord Lieutenant and a number of Deputy Lieutenants, the Reserve Forces Act 1980, which consolidated most of the Lieutenancy legislation, also recognised the City as a separate county for the purposes of Lieutenancy and the Militia. His Majesty’s Commission of Lieutenancy for the City of London is unique in that it is the only Lieutenancy which includes some ex officio members, and all members are named by the Crown as Lieutenants within the City of London. The Lord Mayor presides, primus inter pares.

This body as presently constituted owes its origins to the Second Militia Act of 1662. The Commission is issued annually under the Great Seal.  It is the sole remaining Authority still empowered to levy a Trophy Tax.  Under the 1662 Act Lord Lieutenants had been vested with full power and authority to array, arm and munition the Militia.  To pay for the training and embodiment of the men, Trophy Money was levied locally.  The Clerk to Her Majesty’s Commission of Lieutenancy makes application on behalf of HM’s Lieutenants, signed by nine of them, for the levying of the tax by submitting audited and notarised accounts to the Ministry of Defence, and requesting that a Royal Warrant be served on the Corporation of London for the payment of £4666 13s 4d.  This sum was once levied monthly but was reduced to an annual payment and has remained in this amount since 1820.

On 13 March 1950 Gilbert Davis presented a paper to the Guildhall Historical Society entitled:

Notes Upon the History of the City Lieutenancy

This page was compiled by Nigel R Pullman, as noted, one of the above listed Lieutenants.

June 2019, updated at April 2023

Was this helpful? Do you have comment? Email

© Nigel Pullman 2023